Congressional Community Health Centers Caucuses

Quick References

Senate and House Community Health Center Caucus Membership List

The first Congressional Health Centers Caucus was established in the U.S. House of Representatives as a venue for Members of Congress to identify themselves as health center supporters, educate their colleagues on the importance of health centers, share information on health center priorities, and champion the Health Center Program. After more than a decade of success in the House, the Senate followed suit, establishing a complementary caucus in 2012.

From their inception, the caucuses have been bipartisan. The Senate Caucus was founded by current caucus co-chairs Tom Carper (D-DE), John Cornyn (R-TX), Benjamin Cardin (D-MD), and Roy Blunt (R-MO), along with Senators Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) and John Boozman (R-AR). The House Caucus is currently co-chaired by Representatives Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Kay Granger (R-TX), Danny Davis (D-IL), and Elise Stefanik (R-NY). Under the direction of this group of health center champions, the caucuses work to elevate health center issues in Congress, educate and inform other Members of Congress and their staffs of the benefits of health centers, and bolster efforts to advocate for policies that promote and support health centers nationwide.

Joining the Caucus is a great way for Members of Congress to stay apprised of any legislative efforts that could impact the health centers in their district. For health center advocates, increasing the number of Community Health Center Caucus members is a key way to demonstrate broad bipartisan support for health centers. The caucuses are always seeking new members – it’s a great way for Members to be able to show their support for health centers.

Click here to be re-directed to HCAdvocacy to take action and ask your Members of Congress to join the Health Centers Caucus.